Our Staff and Interns

Y. Armando Nieto, Executive Director

Armando is a seasoned executive and development professional, with experience in management and organizational development, membership development, annual giving, foundation prospecting and grantwriting, and special events. Successful capital campaigns include the Environmental Defense Center Cordero Adobe Campaign and Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History Sea Center. He has been Associate Producer of the Kenny Loggins Christmas Unity Telethon since 1999, and prior to joining the CFJC, Armando served as C.E.O. of Redefining Progress, Managing Director with the Center on Race, Poverty & the Environment, and Executive Director at Eagle Eye Institute in Somerville, Massachusetts, Earth Share of California and the Environmental Defense Center. In 2005 Armando set up the Communications and Community Engagement Department at the Coalition for Clean Air and since 2005 he has served as organizing member of Summit 2007: Diverse Partners for Environmental Progress, and facilitator and report co-author for the related Western Regional Roundtable in Oakland and Southwest Regional Roundtable in Albuquerque, NM. Professional affiliations include Hispanics in Philanthropy, the National Alliance for Hispanic Health, North American Association for Environmental Education, and Golden State Environmental Education Consortium. He is president of the Tulare County Community Water Center and has served on the Advisory Boards of Just Communities, the PG&E ClimateSmart External Advisory Group, and the Central Coast Alliance United for a Sustainable Economy. Email: yanieto@cafoodjustice.org

Courtney Gonzales, Communications Specialist

Courtney earned a BS in Health Education, with an emphasis in Community-Based Public Health, from San Francisco State University. She provided nutrition education as a PEACH (Peer Educator Advocating Campus Health) and was nominated and chosen for the Community Service Learning Student Award for her commitment to food security, social justice, and health equity. Courtney is passionate about cultivating social, economic, and political conditions that support an equitable and just food system. In her free time, she enjoys making jewelry, roller skating, and making all natural body care products.
Email: cgonzales@cafoodjustice.org


Jessy Gill, Policy Specialist

Jessy received her B.A. in Anthropology-Environmental Studies with a minor in African Studies from St. Lawrence University.  During her time at St. Lawrence, Jessy studied in Kenya, where she worked with the International NGO PISP (Pastoralist Integrated Support Programme) in the Marsibit region.  This work spurred her interest in food and water as a basic human right.  Her passion for food equity led her to work on food issues in the States. Jessy lived and worked on a farm in Vermont where she practced sustainable agriculture and  learned about local food systems.  Jessy currently works on policy and relationship building at CFJC. Email: jgill@cafoodjustice.org

Holly Calhoun, Program Coordinator for Healthy Farms Healthy People Coalition (HFHP)

HollyHolly graduated from Colorado College with a B.A. in Comparative Religion. She moved to Los Angeles to pursue a career in local agriculture and public health. Holly began working for the nonprofit Sustainable Economic Enterprises of Los Angeles (SEE-LA) as a seller for local farmers at certified farmers’ markets. For the past five years she served as Program Coordinator of the Bring the Farmer to Your School Program and Market Manager of the Echo Park Farmers’ Market. In 2010, SEE-LA joined the Roots of Change California Farmers’ Market Consortium to design and implement a Healthy Incentive Program at five of its certified farmers’ markets. Holly took on the leadership role of SEE-LA’s “Market Match” program, and worked to increase the use of SNAP/EBT at farmers’ markets throughout Los Angeles County. Holly’s passion and experience lies at the intersection of agriculture and public health. She is highly motivated and personally committed to improving the food system and the health of the nation, and is eager to serve the coalition in pursuit of these goals. In her spare time, Holly loves to garden, ride her bicycle, and take hikes to enjoy the natural beauty of California.

Chris Jadallah
unnamedChris is pursuing a B.S. in Conservation and Resource Studies at UC Berkeley with an emphasis in sustainable food systems. He is passionate about agroecology, food security, and food policy, topics that he hopes to grapple with in future endeavors after graduation. In his free time, Chris enjoys visiting different Bay Area neighborhoods, trying new types of food, and exploring the great outdoors. 



Grania Power

Grania is a senior Environmental Studies major at Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts. Before college, she worked for several months on sustainable family farms at home in Maine, and abroad in Southern France. This work sparked her passion for food justice, and inspired her to co-lead the Food Justice Society at Mount Holyoke. After college, Grania hopes to pursue law school and work in environmental human rights. In her spare time, she enjoys reading, creative writing, and foraging wild foods.

Connie Tu
Amy Johnson
Luis Ochoa-Lopez
Evelyn Hartman
Dorian Toy
Jennifer Wiley
Alene Travalini Anase
Kira Lou
Aquetea Goodman
Alyssa Sheets
Alexa Kaczmarski
Skyler Lewis
Anna Larson
Rosalind Waltz-Peters
Catherine Paulson
Cate Flanagan
Whitney Ball
Sarah Schmitt
Chris Loomis
Sabrina Peterson
Julianna Oldroyd
Adrienne Pollack
Kara Young
Melissa Thayer
Marine Dageville
Cassidy Bennett
Naomi Reimer
Ashley McKenna
Anaïs Dodson
Elizabeth Carlton
Danielle Rodgers
Sarah Oh
Christine Batten
Ruby Tumber
Igor Geyn
Lauren Anderson
Molly Lawrence
Ceressa Allen
LaShonda Deckard
Anita Wong
Victoria Endsley
Porus Mistry
Rebecca Eiseman
Amy Radding
Adrian Gonzalez
Shanna Atherton
Alyson Murphy
Aleisha Baldé
Nicole Willman
Marina Moro
Karen Siverson
Sarah Schmitt
Naiana Brum